Badass In Green awards presented in Culver City


On May 31 members of this Club were among the guests at California Environmental Voters’ annual Badass in Green awards, held at the Smog Shoppe in Culver City’s Arts District. The honorees were Microsoft Chief Sustainability Officer Melanie Nakagawa, who is in charge of their plan to become carbon negative by 2030. Also, Board Chair Ana Karen Estrada and  Co-founder/Finance Director Eric Warmoth from Project Super Bloom, which creates paying jobs for college students as environmental organizers. 

Culver City Mayor and Club member Yasmine-Imani McMorrin was one of the emcees, along with Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas (AD29) and State Senators Lena Gonzalez (SD 33) and Caroline Menjivar (SD20). Other State elected officials present included Assembly Members Matt Haney (AD17) and Ash Kalra (AD25). In addition to Mayor McMorrin, our Club was represented by Culver City Council Member Freddy Puza. Legislation Committee Chair Leah Pressman, Corresponding Secretary Haifaa Moammar, Democratic National Committee Members Andrew Lachman and Analisa Swan, one of our three endorsed Culver City Council candidates Nancy Barba, Lindsay Carlson, Jeanine Wisnosky Stehlin, and me. VIPs also included State Party Progressive Caucus Chair Fatima Iqbal-Zubair, Assembly candidate Sade Elhawary (AD57), and State Senate candidates Michelle Chambers (SD35) and Sasha Renee Perez (SD25). 

Formerly known as the California League of Conservation Voters, California Environmental Voters is one of the State’s most influential Political Action Committees. They not only raise and distribute money but rank State legislators on their environmental voting records. Our Assembly Member Isaac Bryan (AD55), a Life Member of this Club, has a 100% score and our State Senator Lola Smallwood-Cuevas (SD28) 99%.