Club Endorses the Forward 55 ADEMs Slate


At its December 14 General Meeting, the Culver City Democratic Club voted to endorse the Forward 55 slate of delegates to the California Democratic Party. Every member present voted in favor, except for one who abstained.

Every two years, each State Assembly District elects fourteen delegates: seven “Self-Identified Female” and seven “Other than Self-Identified Female.” These delegates help determine the Party’s platform and endorsements.

The Forward 55 slate includes Self-Identified Female candidates Shetarrah Byfield, Mae Gates, Ilissa Gold, Olga Lexell, Leah Pressman, Pamela Sparrow, and Shannon Theus, and non-females Greg Bartlett, Mike Bonin, Herman Jones II, Dr. Daniel Lee, Patrick MacFarlane, Gus Sustaita, and Andrew Swetland. Each is a progressive Democratic activist with deep roots in the district. Visit them online at

This is an internal Democratic Party election. Voters do not need to be members of a Democratic Club, but they must be registered Democrats and must sign up on before the end of 2022 to vote by mail, or before January 21 to vote in person. Please contact the slate or the Club if you have any difficulty registering.

How to participate in the election of Assembly District Delegates

If you registered to vote by mail by December 31, your Scantron ballot will be mailed to you on January 6, 2023. (If you didn’t register to vote by mail in 2022, you can still vote in person between 10 a.m and 2 p.m. on January 21. Go to the website to register to vote in person at

Your vote-by-mail ballot will not have candidate names on them, only numbers.

These are the numbers to mark on your ballot to vote for our endorsed candidates:

2 Leah Pressman

3 Shetarrah Byfield

4 Greg Bartlett

5 Andrew Swetland

6 Patrick MacFarlane

8 Pamela Sparrow

10 Ilissa Gold

13 Shannon Theus

14 Gus Sustaita

18 Daniel Lee

19 Mae Gates

21 Olga Lexell

25 Herman Jones II

30 Mike Bonin

Be sure to include your registration confirmation number on the ballot. (Your ballot won’t be counted without it.) Affix postage and mail it in time to be received by CDP on or before January 31, 2023. Postmarks don’t count.

In-person voting will take place from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on January 21, at the Veterans Memorial Building Rotunda Room.

If you have any questions or problems, you can contact the Club at or CDP staff at