First Vice President and Correspondence Secretary Elections Report


At the Wednesday, February 11, General Meeting, elections were held to fill the positions of First Vice President and Corresponding Secretary for the 2015 Executive Board. This re-vote was held because at the January General Meeting, there were too many invalid ballots to ensure a fair result.

In the First VP election, Khin Khin Gyi was the candidate nominated by the Nominating Committee, and Stephen Murray was the candidate nominated from the floor at January’s meeting. Both candidates appeared on the written ballot. Nominating Chair Darryl Cherness conducted the election. Both Mr. Murray and Ms. Gyi made two-minute speeches. The election was then held by secret ballot. Per the CCDC bylaws, a quorum of at least 25 paid members must be present to vote. Twenty-six ballots were cast, and none were invalid. Ms. Gyi received 20 votes, and Mr. Murray received six votes. Therefore, Ms. Gyi is the newly elected First VP.

For the Correspondence Secretary election, the Nominations Committee previously nominated the current Secretary, Stephen Murray. Mr. Cherness asked three times for nominations from the floor. There were no further nominations from the floor. The membership voted by acclamation to re-elect Stephen Murray as Correspondence Secretary.

Congratulations to the 2015 Executive Board:

President – Sylvia Moore
First Vice President – Khin Khin Gyi
Second Vice President – Amy Cherness
Treasurer – Eric Fine
Membership – Diane Rosenberg
Correspondence Secretary – Stephen Murray
Recording Secretary – Pat Levinson

Just a reminder that our 2015 Installation Luncheon is coming up on Sunday, Feb. 22 at the Courtyard by Marriott in Culver City. Our featured guest speaker and Democratic Activist of the Year is Sandra Fluke. Our Trudy Cherness Democrat of the Year is Bill Wynn. if you haven’t yet bought tickets, you can go to our Act Blue page at