Report From the 2012 CCDC Officers Installation and Awards Luncheon


by Diane Rosenberg, Membership Secretary


On Sunday February 26, 2012 the Club held its annual Installation Luncheon at the Culver Hotel here in Culver City. Not only was the Club celebrating its 60th anniversary but also honoring past presidents who were attending. The emcee was our out-going President, Karlo Silbiger. The room was superb at the Culver Hotel and all who were there thoroughly enjoyed the service and food.

State Controller John Chiang was given the Culver City Democratic Club’s Elected Official of The Year Award for 2012. Controller Chang also installed the new officers for 2012. The new officers are President Bill Wynn, 1st Vice President Meghan Sahli-Wells, 2nd Vice President Sylvia Moore, Recording Sec. Patricia Levinson, Corresponding Secretary Lee Welinsky, Treasurer Eric Fine, Membership Chair Diane Rosenberg.








The Past Presidents which included Tom Camarella, Darryl Cherness, Hal Cherness (Darryl accepted for his father), Hilton Creve, Steve Gourley, Jim Hilfenhaus, Diane Rosenberg, Gerald Sallus, Karlo Silbiger, Ronnie Jayne Solomon, Howard Welinsky, and Lee Welinsky, were each given a certificate honoring their service.

Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas’s office honored four of the oldest past presidents, Hal Cherness (Darryl accepted for his father), Steve Gourley, Mollie “Lee” Welinsky and Howard Welinsky.

The club congratulates all who were honored at the luncheon.